Music awards

No more proof of the diversity for the European pop music scene as when you look at all the awardshows going round. Each European country has it's own awardshow (usually organised by the local IFPI branche). Having organised the Edison award show myself it was always interesting to see that local artists weren't doing that bad. In recent years the European award shows more and more became local teinted shows due to the fact that the American and English hit artists were to expensive to come over.

America has just the Grammy, Europe has:

The ECHO. This is the German music award granted every year by the Deutsche Phono-Akademie (an association of recording companies). Each year's winner is determined by the previous year's sales. The ECHO is the successor to the Deutscher Schallplattenpreis (German Record Award).

The Edison Award. This Dutch award is the oldest Europeam Music Prize granted by the record industry. Presented since 1960 it was modelled after the Grammy's. The Dutch also have the Golden Harp (Dutch:Gouden Harp) which awarded annually to Dutch musicians for their entire oeuvre.

The Porin. The Croatian music award founded by Croatian Phonographic Association, Croatian Musicians Union, Croatian Radiotelevision and Croatian Composer Society. In year 2007. Porin takes place in town Makarska.

The BRIT Awards, often simply called The BRITs, are the British Phonographic Industry's annual pop music awards. The name was originally a shortened form of British or Britannia, but has subsequently become a "backronym" for British Record Industry.

The DMA. The Danish Music Awards is a Danish award show. The show has been arranged by IFPI since 1989, and was originally called IFPI-prisen ("IFPI-Award") until 1991, when it changed its name to Dansk Grammy ("Danish Grammy").

The Hungarian Music Awards have been given to artists in the field of Hungarian music since 1992. The Awards were formerly known as the Golden Giraffe Awards.

The Fryderyk is the award in Polish music. Its name refers to the original Polish spelling variant of Polish composer Frédéric Chopin's first name. Officially created in 1994 and presented for the first time in 1995, the award was initially conferred by the Polish Society of the Phonographic Industry (Związek Producentów Audio-Video, ZPAV

The Emma-gaala is a Finnish music gala arranged yearly by IFPI Finland (ÄKT), awarding the most distinguished artists and music professionals of the year. It has been arranged since 1983, excluding the years 1988–1990.

The Grammis Awards are the Swedish equivalent of the Grammy Awards. The awards ceremony is generally held each year in February in Stockholm. The awards were established in 1969 and awarded until 1972 when they were cancelled. In 1987, Grammis returned to the Swedish music life.

Spellemannprisen is the award for Norwegian artists. The award was established on the initiative of IFPI (International Organization for Record Companies) and was first awarded in 1973 for the year 1972 and has been awarded every year since.