Mauro Scocco (Ratata) Bookmark and Share


11 september 1962

Mauro moved at age 6 to Stockholm after having grown up with his family near Borås in Västergötland. His Italian father sparked his interest in music at a young age. At high school he formed the new wave band Ratata with Anders Skog, Johan Kling and Heinz Liljedahl. The band tried hard to get a recordcontract with sending demo’s but it was the track ‘Ett plus ett’ placed on a cassette compilation for the magazine Schlager that gave them the break to release their first single " För varje dag " in 1981. A debut album soon followed in 1982. But by then the quartet had begun to have problems working together, and by quick release of the second album, "Jackie", the group was almost dissolved. Scocco went on with another musical partner, Johan Ekelund (born 1960), who has been with the group as a musician from the start. Ekelund wasn’t a stranger to the music scène with previous experience in the band Dave and The Mistakes. Together they started working on " Äventyr " to be released in 1983. The new duo presented itself in the live-TV show Casablanca. Together they had a string of hits in the mid-Eighties such as ‘I dina ögon’, ‘Så länge vi har varann’ (a duet with Anni-Frid Lyngstad), ‘Himlen’ and ‘Glad att det är över’. In 1987 they went on joined tour with Eva Dahlgren and Roxette called ‘Rock Runt Riket’. A year later Scocco to a break from the band to release his first solo album. In 1989 Ratata released one more album, ‘Människor under molnen’, under that name before the band stopped altogether. Scocco and Ekelund stayed partners with Ekelund fequently producing or assisting on Scocco solo albums. Together they also founded the independent record label Diesel music.

In the early nineties Mauro stopped touring and focused increasingly on their own albums as well as writing for other artists. He also worked with other artists like Lisa Nilsson for her album ‘Himlen runt hörnet’ and Irma Schultz. During the nineties he also charted with the singles “Det finns” , “Om du var min”, “ Om det är ok” en “Långsamt farväl”. Next to popmusic Scocco also ventured in piano music in 1991 with ‘Det sjungande trädet’, inspired by Erik Satie's music and expressionist art. Under the pseudonym Grobinski he released the trip hop album ‘Stranger than Florida’ in 1996. In 2002, for the twentieth anniversary, Ratata briefly came together again and released the single ‘Honung’. Well into the 2000's he had his own radioshow. In 2007, a DVD ("Rörliga bilder ") that brought together video, music and included a specially recorded mini-concert recorded at Gröna Lund Theatre in Stockholm. At the same time were also released the book ‘Saker som jag gjort ‘ (Things that I've done) which included interviews, photos, prose and paintings. In 2004 he presented the TV show ‘Sen kväll’ inspired by the BBC show ‘Later with Jools’. In 2010 he presented a cooking show on TV8 with Plura Jonsson called ‘Mauro & Pluras’. In 2012 Mauro turned 50 and to celebrate that EMI released a CD on which the cream of Swedish pop interpreted his songs. The CD 'Kom ut ikväll!' was released in 2013.

On the web:

- Mauro's official website: http://www.scocco.net

What do we think:

DB: Ratata was the music of Heaven 17, ABC and Spandau Ballet fused into a Swedish new romantic mould. Scocco's solo work goes more into blue-eyed white soul with this strange Italian vibe to it. Like Daryll Hall going Euro. He may be Swedish but we dare to link him to an artist that is über-Italian sounding. Somehow they come close. Scocco has a feel for commercial light pop but tends to stay at the pleasant side of the genre allthough in his later work he sometimes moves dagenrously close to easy listening.

If you like this, you probably like.. / european counterparts:

Mango (Italy)


♪♪♪♪ - Ratata - 1982

♪♪♪ - Jackie - 1982

- Äventyr - 1983

♪♪♪ - Paradis - 1984

- Sent i september - 1985

♪♪♪ - Mellan dröm och verklighet - 1987

- Människor under molnen - 1989

Scocco solo:
- Mauro Scocco - 1988

- Dr. Space dagbok - 1991

- Det sjungande trädet - 1991

- Ciao! - 1992

- 28 grader i skuggan - 1994

- Godmorgon Sverige - 1996

- Tillbaks till världen - 1999

- Beat Hotel - 2003

- Herr Jimsons äventyr - 2005

- Ljudet av tiden som går - 2007

- Musik för nyskilda - 2011

♪♪♪ - Kom ut ikväll! (tribute CD by various artists) - 2013

♪♪♪♪♪ = outstanding album, an absolute must-have
♪♪♪♪ = great album, highly recomended
♪♪♪ = nice album
♪♪ = be careful, requires listening before buying
♪ = best to be avoided


Your newsletter

Do you want to receive our monthly newsletter? Just tick in your e-mail adress below and stay in touch.

You will receive an e-mail message (sorry, in Dutch) that you have to confirm.